Live Rally Stage with Group B cars

Out on the Live Rally Stage, under the watchful eye of the team from Rallying with Group B, around 80 Group A, B and C cars provided spectators with thrill after thrill especially when former World Rally Champion Ari Vatanen got back behind the wheel of the Rothmans Ford Escort and Subaru Legacy he drove in period. 

The Live Rally Stage celebrated rallying’s past with a stunning selection of cars brought together by Rallying with Group B.  There was also an opportunity for visitors to enjoy a passenger ride with one of the experienced drivers.

There was a stunning choice of cars taking part on the Live Rally stage: such as Ford Escorts and Sierras, Mini Coopers recreating the scenes of ’60s rallying, Chrysler Avenger's and Fiat 131 Abarth represented the following decade, whilst going into the 1980s, a Lotus Sunbeam, Audi Quattros and a fire-breathing Metro 6R4, along with its Peugeot 205 T16 electrified the crowds.

2018 will bring more exciting cars to the Live Rally Stage, watch this space!


Entry Driver Car

1 Ari Vatanen BMW M3

2 Markku Alén Subaru Legacy

3 Russell Brookes/Kerry Michael Opel Manta 400

4 Chris Ingram Adam R2

5 David Llewellyn Subaru Impreza 555

6 Ryan Champion Subaru Impreza 555

7 Geoff Jones Nissan Micra Kit Car

8 Chris Birbeck Opel Ascona 400

9 Mick Strafford Firenza Can-Am

10 Ian Gwynne Renault 5 Turbo

11 Matthew Ceen Fiesta R5

12 Craig Pennington Polo WRC Proto

13 Steve Goode Subaru Impreza S11 WRC

14 Niall Moroney Subaru Impreza WRC

15 Gordon Winning Ford Focus WRC

16 Graham Butler Ford Escort WRC

17 Alan Wilson Ford Escort WRC

18 Steve Chamberlain Proton Satria S2000

19 John Clayton Mitsubishi Evo9

20 John/Gareth Lay Proton Pert

21 Dave/Jade Paveley Mitsubishi Evo3

22 Chris Daykin Subaru Group N

23 Nigel Hepburn Ford Escort RS2000 F2

24 Tony Shields Vauxhall Astra F2 Kit Car

25 Chris Butcher Nissan Sunny F2

27 Alex Willan Vauxhall Astra Gp N

28 Adrian Kermode BMW M3

29 Steve Magson Mercedes 190e Cosworth

30 Zak Hughes MG ZR S1600

31 Tom Delaney Peugeot 205 Gti Gp N

32 Domenic Delaney Peugeot 205 Gti Gp A

33 Duncan Waite Ford Sierra Cosworth

34 David Vardy Ford Sierra Cosworth

35 Jason Lepley Ford Sierra Cosworth

36 Terry Pankhurst Peuget 205T16 Evo

37 Dave Higgs MG Metro 6R4

38 John Saunders MG Metro 6R4

39 Grafton Beddoes Ford RS200

40 Tom Blackwood Ford RS200

41 Nick/Tom Barrington Audi Quattro

42 Adam Marsden Audi Quattro

43 Tim Clarke/Andy Traynor Audi Quattro

44 Neil Brighton Renault 5 Maxi Turbo

45 Andrew Cooper Renault 5 Turbo

46 Lee/Kevin Jones Renault 5 Turbo

47 Simon Powell Opel Manta 400

48 Steve Harkness Opel Ascona

49 Terry Maynard Lotus Esprit

50 Lee/Kevin Jones Ferrari 308 GTB Michelotto

51 Martin Williams Triumph TR7 V8

52 Jeff Williamson Triumph TR7 V8

53 Stuart Anderson Vauxhall Chevette

54 John Midgley Toyota Celica

55 Mike Barratt Talbot Lotus Sunbeam

56 Shaun Clorley Talbot Lotus Sunbeam

57 Dave Wright Ford Escort Mk2

58 Paul Howarth Ford Escort Mk2

59 Dave Willet Ford Escort Mk2

60 Alan Watkins Ford Escort RS1800

61 Russ Mason Ford Escort Mk2

62 Paul Holmes Ford Escort Mk2

63 Alan Davis Ford Escort Mk2

64 Rob Dennis Ford Escort Mk2

65 Duncan Pearcey Datsun 260Z

66 Paul Hunter Chrysler Avenger

67 Trevor Hancock Triumph TR7 V8

68 Neil Maynard Triumph TR7 V8

69 John Anderson Porsche 996 GT3

70 Greg Crozier Ford Escort Mk1

71 Ian Houston Ford Escort Mk1 RS 2000

72 Julian Burch Ford Escort Mk1

73 Anthony Harrison Ford Escort Mexico Mk1

74 John Cadwallader Mini Clubman GT

75 Roger Platt Ford Lotus Cortina Mk1

76 Patrick Walker Triumph 2.5 pi

77 Patrick Walker Mini Cooper S

78 John Partridge Rover Mini GpN

79 Derek/Nick Wilkins Cox GTM

80 Mark Tabor Volvo Amazon

81 Bronwyn Burrell Austin Maxi

82 Patricia Smith/Wright Austin 1800