Race Retro Cars

Race Retro 2017 featured more historic, vintage, classic and retro motorsport vehicles than ever before with hundreds of stunning competition cars and bikes covering all disciplines from Formula One to hill climbing, rallying to GT cars, with fantastic displays by motorsport clubs from around the UK. Hall of Fame inductee Tom Kristensen thrilled the crowds as he climbed back into his Bentley overalls and the Speed 8 in which he won the Le Mans 24-hour race in 2013, before taking to the Motor Sport Live Stage to be interviewed and taking questions from a packed audience. 

A huge crowd gathered as Jim Clark’s Lotus 33 R11 was unveiled for the first time in public for over 40 years as part of a launch for the Jim Clark Trust’s crowdfunding appeal. Jim’s cousin Doug Niven spoke of the plans to open a new Jim Clark Museum in 2018, asking for support to make the fantastic new development a reality. 

Race Retro’s 50th anniversary celebration of the Cosworth DFV certainly turn heads with a display curated by engine designer Mike Costin, who founded Cosworth with Keith Duckworth, both Hall of Fame nominees for 2017. Cars featured in the tribute included the incredibly rare Tyrell P34 six-wheeler, the Cosworth 4WD, the Lotus 49B, and James Hunt’s McLaren M23. 

In 2018 you can expect to see more exciting additions to the show, watch this space!

Markku Alén

Rally legend Markku Alén, known for his catchphrase “now maximum attack,” held the record for the most stage wins at 801 until the record was taken by Sébastien Loeb in the 2011 Rally Catalunya. After seven years at Fiat, Alén moved to Lancia where he became a familiar face alongside the iconic Martini livery of the Delta HF.

‘Fast’ Freddie Spencer

‘Fast’ Freddie Spencer won his first 500cc World Championship in 1983 aged just 21-years. In 1985, he won the Daytona 200, Formula 1 and 250cc classes, making him the only rider to win all three divisions in a single year. Spencer also competed in both the 250cc and 500cc Grand Prix World Championships, winning both titles in the same year.

Mike Costin

Mike Costin was, together with Keith Duckworth, the co-founder of Cosworth Engineering, a producer of Ford-funded and sponsored engines with many World Champions using Cosworth DFV engines during the 1970s. In 1953 he started at Lotus, while Duckworth joined in 1957. They founded Cosworth Engineering in 1958. 

Dai Llewellin

Two times British Rally Champion from 1989 and 1990 and Welsh rallying hero Dai Llewellin drove for a number of different teams reaching a pinnacle during his time with the Toyota team. He can often be seen demonstrating his skills behind the wheel of a Subaru Legacy.

Norman Dewis OBE

Norman Dewis OBE was chief test driver and development engineer for Jaguar Cars from 1952 to 1985, involved in the creation of 25 models. He was also a key part of the team which developed and raced the three-times Le Mans winning D-Type sports racing car and is a member of the last surviving all-British Mille Miglia crew.

Rosemary Smith

Irish rally driver Rosemary Smith initially trained as a dress designer before she entered her first rally as a navigator. After deciding that navigating was not to her liking she switched to driving. She came to the attention of the Rootes Group's Competition Department who offered her a works drive.

Mark Higgins

By the age of 17, ‘Mad’ Mark Higgins had successfully competed in a range of motor sport activities such as trial bikes and karts. He is best known as the three-times British Rally Champion turned stunt driver as he has appeared in various films including the James Bond blockbusters Quantum of Solace and Skyfall. 

Chris Ingram

Rally driver Chris Ingram won the 2012 MSA Young Driver of the Year Award and European Rally Championship Colin McRae Flat Out Award on the Circuit of Ireland Rally 2014 and Rallye Açores 2015. He is the youngest works rally driver since Richard Burns, and in 2016, signed with Opel Motorsport, winning the FIA ERC 3 title scoring five-consecutive podiums.

Bronwyn ‘Bron’ Burrell

Back in 1970, former Miss Castrol, Bronwyn ‘Bron’ Burrell was the youngest driver in the World Cup Rally from London to Mexico. Nearly five decades on, and at the age of 72, Bron is back behind the wheel to race again in the very same car.

Tina Kerridge-Reynolds

Co-driver Tina Kerridge-Reynolds was part of the all-female team that competed in the World Cup Rally from London to Mexico. After being tracked down by driver Bron Burrell, Tina searched for their original car with the three reunited and rallying again at Race Retro.

Christabel Carlisle

Christabel Carlisle was a Works BMC driver in the British Saloon Car Championship in Mini Coopers, MGB and Austin Healey Sprites. Her giant killing performances resulted in many lap records and class wins. She co-drove for John Sprinzel on the 1962 Monte Carlo Rally and then Timo Makinen in the big Healey in 1963.

Russell Brookes

Twice British Rally Championship winner and Race Retro regular Russell Brookes scored three successive podium places on the RAC Rally between 1977 and 1979.

Tony Mason

Tony Mason made his name as a co-driver to Roger Clark, winning the ’72 RAC Rally. He later presented Top Gear and when he’s not talking motorsport, he’s entertaining the crowds aboard exotic bound cruise liners.

Barrie ‘Whizzo’ Williams’

Barrie ‘Whizzo’ Williams’ racing career spans over 50 years in which he has driven single seaters and saloons. Today he’s a highly respected historic motor sport competitor and one of the most beloved characters on the historic scene.

Tom Kristensen

Endurance racing legend Tom Kristensen holds the record for the most wins at the 24hr of Le Mans, with nine victories to his name, six of which were consecutive years. Kristensen also has six victories at Sebring, one at Petit Le Mans, and won the FIA World Championship (WEC), making him the most successful sports car driver of his era.

Ari Vatanen

Ari Vatanen, one of the best-known rally drivers of the 1980s, competed for Peugeot at the wheel of a 205 T16, and was on course to win his second World Championship in 1985 until a near-fatal accident ended his season. He returned to win four Paris-Dakar Rallies, as well as smashing the record for the Pikes Peak Hill climb in a 600bhp Peugeot 405 T16 in 1988.